Diablo 4 Tree of Whispers explained: How to unlock, Nightmare Sigils, more

The Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4Blizzard

Diablo 4 is loaded with endgame features such as Tree of Whispers that you can access after beating the campaign. To help you get the best quality of loot, here’s a guide explaining Tree of Whispers, Nightmare Sigils, and Nightmare Dungeons.

Diablo 4 is a live service game and Blizzard plans to release four seasons every year with new themes, quests, items, a Battle Pass, and more. This naturally means that the game emphasizes a lot on endgame content, multiplayer, world bosses, dungeons, and side quests to keep players entertained even after they complete the main story.

One such endgame feature that you’ll stumble upon is the Tree of Whispers. By unlocking it, you can roam around the map completing bounties and increase the intensity of certain challenges to get better gear, armor, and more.

On that note, here’s a guide to unlocking the Tree of Whispers and Nightmare Sigils in Diablo 4 that should help you take part in the toughest battles with the most lucrative rewards.

Diablo 4 cutsceneBlizzard
Diablo 4 players can level up after 50 with Paragon Points.

What is the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4?

The Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4 is a talking tree that you first encounter in the campaign while finding the reason behind Elias’ immortality. Once the campaign is over, a Priority Quest asks you to go back to the tree which asks you to slay those who are yet to pay their debts.

Article continues after ad

How to unlock the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4

You can easily unlock the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4 by completing the main story. It is important to note that you interact with the tree during the campaign as well but the ability to get missions from the tree is available only after you’ve beat Lilith.

When the game’s primary story comes to a close, your next task is to return to the tree to receive its orders. Be sure to activate the nearby waypoint for a convenient return to the tree.

A Nightmare Dungeon in Diablo 4Blizzard
Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4 provide you with a buff and two nerfs to increase the challenge.

Whispers you can get from the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4

The Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4 hands out different types of assignments called Whispers. These can be related to:

  • The assassination of a certain NPC who is yet to pay their debt to the tree.
  • Dungeons.
  • Events that require you to collect Anima.
  • Local events.
  • PvP challenges.
  • World events.
  • Slay animals.

All these missions will be relatively easier for anyone who’s completed the campaign. This is most likely because the Tree of Whispers isn’t an endgame challenge itself, but a way for you to access the challenging endgame content such as Nightmare Dungeons.

Rewards for completing Whispers in Diablo 4

The rewards that you get by completing Whispers in Diablo 4 include:

  • Experience
  • Gold
  • Grim Favors

While Experience helps in leveling up, Gold is important for purchasing and upgrading your weapons, armor, and jewelry.

Having said that, the real takeaway here are the Grim Favors and you can check how many you have through the bar on the bottom of the map. After collecting ten Grim Favors, you must return to the Tree of Whispers for the exciting rewards mentioned below.

Article continues after ad
The Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4Blizzard
Elias’ head also hangs on the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4.

Tree of Whispers rewards in Diablo 4

Once you have ten Grim Favors, you can return to the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4 to choose one of three caches from the following options:

  • Collection of one-handed weapons.
  • Collection of two-handed weapons.
  • Collection of Amulets.
  • Collection of Boots.
  • Collection of Chest Armors.
  • Collection of Gloves.
  • Collection of Helms.
  • Collection of Leg Armors.
  • Collection of Rings.

These caches can contain other items as well, but they’re primarily filled with the armor/weapon/jewelry item mentioned in the description. You can not only get Legendary items from these caches but also Nightmare Sigils.

How to get and use Nightmare Sigils from Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4

You can unlock Nightmare Sigils and Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4 after completing the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon and switching to World Tier 3: Nightmare. After doing so, Nightmare Sigils will become a part of your loot and a reward from the Tree of Whispers caches.

These valuable sigils unlock the demanding Nightmare Dungeons, which offer a stiffer, more intense version of traditional dungeon adventures.

These Nightmare Sigils also enable the use of game modifiers that can customize the dungeon to fit your playing style. In the harsh yet exciting environment of Sanctuary’s Nightmare Dungeons, you’ll find yourself battling through tougher versions of the original dungeons. Survive these challenges, and you’ll be rewarded with Sacred and Unique weapons, armor, and more.

A Nightmare Dungeon in Diablo 4Blizzard
The Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4 are tougher but they also hand out better loot.

Nightmare Sigils tiers in Diablo 4 explained

Nightmare Sigils in Diablo 4 have tiers and you get better tier sigils after beating some Tier 1 Nightmare Dungeons. Once you get a Tier 3 Nightmare Sigil, the Occulist will unlock another function that lets you craft up to Tier 100 Nightmare Sigils.

Article continues after ad

The tier of the sigils directly impacts the level of enemies you face in the dungeon and the rewards upon completion.

We hope this guide helps you survive the high-risk-high-reward endgame in Diablo 4. For more content on the game, you can check out:

How to preload Diablo 4 | Best Diablo 4 Druid builds | Best Diablo 4 Barbarian build | Diablo 4 skill tree builder | Is Diablo 4 coming to Nintendo Switch | How does Diablo 4 co-op campaign progression work | How to fast travel in Diablo 4 | Is Diablo 4 playable on the Steam Deck | How to salvage gear in Diablo 4 | All Diablo 4 classes | Diablo 4 World Boss tracker | Diablo 4 Renown system explained | How to open Silent Chests in Diablo 4 | How to unlock mounts in Diablo 4 | How to complete Keeping the Old Traditions quest in Diablo 4 | All Diablo 4 Purveyor of Curiosities locations | Diablo 4 Crushed Beast Bones: How to make Light Healing Potions 

Related Topics