Modern Warfare 3: Release date, platforms, price, editions, new features, Zombies, more

Liam Mackay
Modern Warfare III logoActivision

Modern Warfare 3 is set to be the next chapter in the Call of Duty franchise, offering a campaign, multiplayer, Zombies, and so much more. Here’s the MW3 release date, along with details like the game’s price, editions, and new features.

Modern Warfare 3 is right around the corner and prior to release, the devs have revealed a ton of information regarding CoD 2023’s campaign, multiplayer, and the first-ever Zombies mode within the Modern Warfare saga.

Article continues after ad

With the return of beloved maps and fan-favorite features, Call of Duty players can’t wait to dive into all of the content available at launch.

We’re breaking down everything you need to know about Modern Warfare 3 including its release date, campaign, Zombies mode, platforms, price, multiplayer maps, and more.

Captain Price crouched in a field in MW3.Activision
Captain Price and Task Force 141 return in Modern Warfare 3.

Modern Warfare 3 release date & time

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 will release on Friday, November 10, 2023.

In a blog post for the PC launch of MW3, the devs revealed the official release times for the game. MW3 console players can expect a regional 12 AM local time rollout on November 10, except for those in North America where the release time is 9 PM PT / 10 PM MT / 11 PM CT / 12 AM ET (Nov 11).

Article continues after ad

You can also check out when and how to preload MW3 to jump in straight away on day one.

MW3 PC release time

November 9

  • 9 PM PST
  • 11 PM CST

November 10

  • 12 AM EST
  • 2 AM BRT
  • 5 AM GMT
  • 6 AM CET
  • 2 PM KST/KST
  • 4 PM AEDT

Modern Warfare 3 platforms

Modern Warfare 3 will be available on the PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, and PC through Battle.net and Steam.

Modern Warfare 3 price & editions

Modern Warfare 3 has three different editions to choose from: Standard and Cross-Gen editions cost $69.99 / £69.99, and the bonus-packed Vault edition costs $99.99 / £99.99.

Standard and Cross-Gen editions will be available for PC and consoles (PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S) respectively. Meanwhile, the Vault edition will be available for all platforms.

Article continues after ad
Modern Warfare 3 Vault edition benefitsActivision
Modern Warfare 3’s Vault Edition includes exclusive cosmetics.

All editions will also contain pre-order bonus content, including exclusive Operators skins, campaign and beta early access, and more.

Modern Warfare 3 campaign early access

Modern Warfare 3’s campaign early access period went live on November 2, 2023, at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 5 PM GMT.

To play the campaign early access, players will have to pre-order any of the game’s available editions.

Is Modern Warfare 3 a MW2 sequel?

Modern Warfare 3 will serve as a direct sequel to 2022’s Modern Warfare 2, being the first time ever that CoD releases a sequel back-to-back from the same sub-series.

Article continues after ad

They also added that both games have been “years in the making,” with both lead developers Infinity Ward (MW2) and Sledgehammer Games (MW3) working closely “to create a blockbuster sequel in the Modern Warfare series.”

The campaign sees Task Force 141 take on legendary Modern Warfare villain Makarov, attempting to thwart his global terror attacks. The campaign will allow players to return to the fan-favorite Verdansk map in the Open Combat Missions, as well as other locations around the world.

Article continues after ad

All Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer maps

Orlov Military base in MW3 Ground WarActivision
Modern Warfare 3’s Ground War maps take place in the new Warzone map, Urzikstan.

Modern Warfare 3 will feature 20 multiplayer maps at launch, consisting of the 16 original Modern Warfare 2 2009 launch maps as well as four larger maps which will feature Ground War and Invasion.

Over 12 new 6v6 maps will arrive in post-launch seasons, beginning with Season 1 in December 2023.

Modern Warfare 3 6v6 maps

Here are all of the Modern Warfare 3 6v6 maps at launch:

  • Highrise
  • Terminal
  • Rust
  • Estate
  • Quarry
  • Scrapyard
  • Favela
  • Sub Base
  • Wasteland
  • Afghan
  • Underpass
  • Invasion
  • Karachi
  • Skidrow
  • Rundown
  • Derail

Modern Warfare 3 large-scale maps

Modern Warfare 3 will also have four large-scale maps at launch:

  • Resort (Ground War & Invasion)
  • Military Base (Ground War & Invasion)
  • Popov Power Plant (Ground War & Invasion)
  • Launch Facility (War)

Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer updates

Modern Warfare 3’s design philosophy appears to have been to address the major complaints around MW2 2022, making several highly requested changes to multiplayer.

Article continues after ad

Here’s an overview of everything that’s changed in MW3:

  • Traditional minimap
  • Faster movement speed
  • Slide & reload cancel return
  • Ninja Perk
  • 150 health for slower time to kill
  • Map voting

Modern Warfare 3 Zombies

Modern Warfare 3 will feature a Zombies mode, being the first time the popular mode arrives within the Modern Warfare series.

The mode will combine Warzone 2 DMZ and Black Ops Cold War Outbreak mode styles into one giant experience, allowing up to 24 players in squads of 4 players each to play against the environment (PvE) on the next Warzone map.

Additionally, it will follow Treyarch’s Zombies storyline and will bring back fan-favorite features from the popular dev team, such as Mystery Boxes, Wall Buys, Pack-A-Punch, and more.

Article continues after ad

Modern Warfare 3 developers

Sledgehammer Games are Modern Warfare 3’s lead developer, with multiple studios supporting SHG, as we’ve seen in the latest titles.

Sledgehammer co-developed the original Modern Warfare 3 with Infinity Ward before being the main developers of Advanced Warfare, WWII, and most recently, Vanguard.

WWII War game mode returns in Modern Warfare 3

Sledgehammer Games’ War mode was initially launched with WWII in 2017, and it is officially returning in Modern Warfare 3.

In this mode, players engage in a variety of custom-designed maps carrying out objective-based missions. War mode encourages teamwork as players collaborate to accomplish tasks like planting bombs, capturing control points, and constructing bridges for offensive purposes.

Article continues after ad

War is particularly appealing to those seeking a team-oriented gameplay experience that doesn’t affect your K/D, offering opportunities to both defend and attack strategic objectives.

Modern Warfare 2 Operators & weapons carry over to Modern Warfare 3

Content from Modern Warfare 2, such as weapons, Operators, and store bundles will carry over to 2023’s Modern Warfare 3.

In a Q&A blog, the devs revealed the new Carry Forward feature, which will let players transfer existing content from Modern Warfare 2 into Modern Warfare 3, allowing players to use all their MW2 unlocks and progress at MW3’s launch.

Article continues after ad

Modern Warfare 3 trailers

Activision confirmed Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and its release date with the teaser trailer, showing both Price and Makarov.

The next Modern Warfare 3 trailer set up Modern Warfare 3’s major antagonist Makarov in live-action, blended with gameplay footage.

Modern Warfare 3’s gameplay reveal trailer showed Task Force 141 in action and the return of Verdansk’s prison POI.

We then got the full gameplay of the prison break level in the full campaign premiere at Gamescom.

Article continues after ad

Modern Warfare 3’s Zombies cinematic trailer gave us a taste of what to expect in the new open-world mode.

Ahead of the beta, Call of Duty dropped the multiplayer reveal trailer, showing off the weapons, Operators, and maps.

The Zombies reveal trailer showed off the open-world gameplay on the new Urzikstan map which is also coming to Warzone in December.

Modern Warfare 3’s “The Lobby” trailer featured a brand-new song from 21 Savage, with the actors for Graves, Makarov, Valeria, and Gaz reprising their roles in live-action.

Article continues after ad

While you wait for Modern Warfare 3, check out our other guides:

How to get MGB Tactical Nuke Killstreak in Modern Warfare 3 | When is Ranked Play coming to Modern Warfare 3? | Modern Warfare 3 Zombies Zones explained | Modern Warfare 3 Cutthroat game mode explained | Will Call of Duty have Xbox-exclusive content under Microsoft? | Will Call of Duty be Xbox exclusive after Microsoft acquisition? | Is Modern Warfare 3 coming to Xbox Game Pass?

Related Topics

About The Author

Liam is CharlieIntel's Editor who focuses on Call of Duty but also plays lots of fantasy RPGs or anything else in his massive gaming backlog. After graduating in Journalism from Edinburgh Napier University, Liam freelanced in games journalism before joining CharlieIntel in November 2020. You can contact Liam at [email protected].