All Diablo 4 World Tiers explained: How to change difficulty?

Hamza Khalid
Diablo 4 characterBlizzard Entertainment

Diablo 4 has different World Tiers that represent different levels of difficulty. Here’s everything you need to know about this system in the game.

Diablo 4 Season 3 is here and players have running around Sanctuary slaying constructs raised by the demon Malphas. As you pursue and cull these monsters, you will need to get your hands on better gear and weapons.

This is where the Diablo 4 World Tiers come into play. These World Tiers dictate the overall difficulty of the game and guarantee better loot and bonus XP.

Article continues after ad

Here’s everything you need to know about Diablo 4’s World Tiers system.

How do Diablo 4 World Tiers work?

There are four different World Tiers in the game. Two tiers will be available to you from the very beginning, while you will have to unlock the other two by progressing through the game.

When you first create your character, you will be given the option to choose between the first two World Tiers in Diablo 4, and you can switch between them any time you want.

Article continues after ad

That said, it’s worth remembering that higher World Tiers mean better rewards, so if you’re looking to level up quickly in the game, then go for the higher tiers.

Diablo 4 artBlizzard Entertainment
Diablo 4 World Tiers determine the difficulty of your playthrough.

It’s also worth noting that the enemy difficulty scales with you to a certain extent. To put it into perspective, you will rarely encounter enemies that are more than two levels below you. There’s always a chance that you will encounter enemies at levels above you, but never below your overall character level.

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech
Article continues after ad

All World Tiers In Diablo 4

Here’s a list of all the World Tiers in Diablo 4:

  • World Tier 1: Adventurer
  • World Tier 2: Veteran
  • World Tier 3: Nightmare
  • World Tier 4: Torment

While you gain an increased amount of Gold and XP on Nightmare and Torment, it’s also worth noting that you take more elemental damage in these two World Tiers in Diablo 4. For context, in World Tier 3: Nightmare, you have -25% resistance to all elements. In World Tier 4: Torment, that goes up to -50%.

How to change World Tier difficulty in Diablo 4

You can change the World Tier by selecting the ‘Change World Tier‘ option on the right side of the screen and picking your desired difficulty when you’re loading into the game. However, to select the World Tier from here, you will have to unlock it first.

Article continues after ad

Another way to get this done is to visit a World Tier Statue in Kyovashad. Once there, you can choose a new World Tier.

World Tier Statue in Diablo 4Blizzard Entertainment / Youtube: Bue
You can change the World Tier at these Statues in Diablo 4.

To unlock World Tier 3: Nightmare, you need to hit level 50 and complete the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon. To unlock World Tier 4: Torment, you need to hit level 70 and then clear the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in Diablo 4. You will also be able to access the endgame bosses in World Tiers 3 and 4 only.

Article continues after ad

That covers everything that you need to know about World Tiers in Diablo 4.

For more content on Diablo 4, check out:

Best Diablo 4 Druid builds | Best Diablo 4 Barbarian build | Diablo 4 skill tree builder | Is Diablo 4 coming to Nintendo Switch | How does Diablo 4 co-op campaign progression work | Is Diablo 4 playable on the Steam Deck | How to salvage gear in Diablo 4 | How to transmog gear in Diablo 4 | Diablo 4 Ashava boss guide 

Related Topics

About The Author

Hamza is a Content Creator & Publisher at Charlie INTEL, who graduated from Bahria University with a Bachelors degree in Business Administration. He's spent the past few years covering news and guides for various video games, including Call of Duty and Apex Legends. He loves digital art, movies, and comic books. You can contact Hamza at [email protected].