Diablo 4 Gem levels explained: All qualities & how to upgrade Gems

Hamza Khalid
Diablo 4 character and GemBlizzard Entertainment / Diablo Wiki

Diablo 4 Season 2 introduces several gameplay changes, but that hasn’t toned down the necessity of powerful Gems, as you need them in order to build your characters. From the different qualities of Gems to how to upgrade them, here’s everything to know about Gems in Diablo 4.

Diablo 4‘s Sanctuary has tons of enemies who drop rewards like Gems when defeated. These precious stones have unique buffs, qualities, and uses, but not every Gem you acquire is useful, which means you’ll have to be careful when discarding, selling, or salvaging them.

This is where knowing about different Gem levels and upgrades can come in handy. Gems grant essential stats, ranging from Thorns and Health Regeneration to Armor Boosts and Resistances, so not using them with your Diablo 4 builds can be a mistake.

If you want to use them correctly for your favorite builds and classes, here’s everything about Gem Levels and Gem Upgrades in Diablo 4.

What are Gems in Diablo 4?

Gems are items that players can use to customize their gear so that they can take advantage of their effects throughout Diablo 4. Once you reach Level 15, you’ll be able to find Gems by searching chests and other objects or by looting them from enemies.

Article continues after ad

The Ore Veins across Sanctuary often contain Gems for you to collect, and completing Quests can sometimes provide you with these items as rewards. Certain gems grant bonuses that are useful when you encounter specific dangers.

Ruby Gem in Diablo 4Blizzard Entertainment
Diablo 4 Gems improve your gear.

All Gem types in Diablo 4

There are seven types of Gems that you can collect in Diablo 4, and all of them provide different bonuses to your weapon, armor, and jewelry.

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech

Here are all of the Diablo 4 Gem types:

GemWeapon BonusArmor BonusJewelry Bonus
RubyBuffs Overpower type DamageBuffs Maximum LifeBuffs Fire Resistance
SapphireBuffs Critical Strike Damage to Crowd-controlled EnemiesReduces Damage when FortifiedBuffs Cold Resistance
TopazBuffs Basic Skill DamageReduces Damage while ImpairedBuffs Lightning Resistance
EmeraldBuffs Critical Strike Damage to Vulnerable EnemiesBuffs Thorns DamageBuffs Poison Resistance
AmethystBuffs Damage dealt over timeReduces Damage taken over timeBuffs Shadow Resistance
DiamondBuffs Ultimate Skill DamageBuffs Barrier effectsBuffs Resistance to all Elements
SkullHealth regenerates after killsBuffs Healing amount receivedBuffs all Armor Stats

How to upgrade Gem levels in Diablo 4

After reaching Level 20, you can upgrade Gems in Diablo 4 by visiting Jewelers in Sanctuary’s different towns and interacting with them. To upgrade the Gem level, you will need to have three of the same Gem type and quality that the Jeweler can upgrade into one Gem.

diablo 4 gems at jewelerBlizzard Entertainment
Diablo 4 Gems can be upgraded by jewelers.

All Gem qualities in Diablo 4

Diablo 4 features five different Gem qualities, starting with Crude at the bottom and ending with Royal at the top. As you visit Jewellers, they’ll bring your Gem quality up to the next tier.

Here are the Gem qualities in Diablo 4:

  • Crude Gems (Level 15)
  • Chipped Gems (Level 20, require three of the same type of Crude Chem)
  • Standard Gems (Level 40, require three of the same type of Chipped Gem)
  • Flawless Gems (Level 60, require three of the same type of Standard Gem)
  • Royal Gems (Level 70, require three of the same type of Flawless Gem)

As you level up, you’ll be able to take advantage of high-tier Gem levels in Diablo 4, and equipping these with your gear will make your gameplay experience much easier.

For more Diablo 4 content, check out:

Diablo 4 skill tree builder | Is Diablo 4 coming to Nintendo Switch | Is Diablo 4 playable on the Steam Deck | How to salvage gear in Diablo 4 | How to transmog gear in Diablo 4 | All Diablo 4 Altars of Lilith locations | Diablo 4 ending explained | How to earn skill points in Diablo 4 | How to upgrade healing potions in Diablo 4 

Article continues after ad

About The Author

Hamza is a Content Creator & Publisher at Charlie INTEL, who graduated from Bahria University with a Bachelors degree in Business Administration. He's spent the past few years covering news and guides for various video games, including Call of Duty and Apex Legends. He loves digital art, movies, and comic books. You can contact Hamza at [email protected].