Modern Warfare 2 Season 4 Ranked Play reset explained

Luca Di Marzo
Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play Skill DivisionsActivision

Modern Warfare 2 Season 4 is here, and many players are wondering how the rank reset works in the competitive Ranked Play mode. Here’s what you need to know about rank reset in MW2.

Modern Warfare 2 Season 4 arrived on June 14, and the update brought the new Tempus Razorback Assault Rifle and ISO 45 SMG, which many are claiming is currently extremely powerful.

Season 4 also marks the next chapter for Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play, as player ranks will have been reset. For those wondering how the rank reset works in Modern Warfare 2, here’s our guide on how your Ranked Play Skill Division will change when heading into a new season.

Article continues after ad

How does Ranked Play reset work in Modern Warfare 2?

Modern Warfare 2 players will have their Skill Division set back at the start of every new season. Your Ranked Play Skill Division placement will determine where you end up at the start of a new Modern Warfare 2 season.

Here’s a breakdown of every rank reset in Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play:

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech
  • Bronze → Bronze Tier 1
  • Silver → Bronze Tier 1
  • Gold → Silver Tier 1
  • Platinum → Gold Tier 1
  • Diamond → Platinum Tier 1
  • Crimson → Diamond Tier 1
  • Iridescent → Diamond Tier 1
  • Top 250 → Diamond Tier 1

Essentially, players will be sent back one Ranked Play Skill Division at the start of a new Modern Warfare 2 season, except for those in Bronze, Iridescent, and Top 250. This means that the race to the Top 250 is reignited at the start of each new season.

Article continues after ad
Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play playerActivision
MW2’s Ranked Play is looking to continue its success in Season 3.

The Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play reset is based on your final Skill Division placement achieved at the end of the season and not your highest Skill Division. If you’re interested in how your rank stacks up, check out our piece on the average Skill Division in MW2.

In addition to a rank reset, Demotion Protection will activate for your first three matches of a new season. Those who were in the Iridescent and Top 250 Skill Divisions will benefit from Demotion Protection for several matches.

Article continues after ad

While your Ranked Play Skill Divisions will reset at the start of Season 3, your Rank will not. Your Rank is the emblem and number from 1-50 attached to your profile in Ranked Play.

For more Call of Duty, check out some of our other guides:

Best Modern Warfare 2 PC settings | Best Modern Warfare 2 controller settings | Best guns in Modern Warfare 2 | Best audio settings for Modern Warfare 2 | Best SMGs in Modern Warfare 2 | Best Ranked Play loadouts for Modern Warfare 2

Article continues after ad

About The Author

Luca is a Senior Writer at CharlieIntel. An accomplished, writer with interests in sports and gaming alike, Luca is focused on Call of Duty and FIFA as a content creator. After earning his BA in English Literature at Concordia University, he began writing for Gamelevate, OddsShark, and H4X. Luca joined CharlieIntel in 2021. You can reach Luca at [email protected], or via his Twitter @TheLucaDiMarzo.