When is Star Wars Outlaws set? Timeline explained

Nathan Warby
Kay Vess shooting in Star Wars Outlaws

Star Wars Outlaws fleshes out the iconic sci-fi universe by dropping you into the galaxy’s criminal underworld, but where does it fit on the larger timeline? Here’s when Star Wars Outlaws is set to give you an idea of which familiar faces could show up.

Star Wars Outlaws is gearing up to be one of the biggest games of 2024, exploring the galaxy’s underbelly like never before. With games like Jedi: Survivor exploring the period between the original and prequel trilogies, you might be wondering where Ubisoft’s new title fits on the timeline.

So, here’s everything you need to know about when Star Wars Outlaws is set.

When does Star Wars Outlaws take place?

Star Wars Outlaws is set between 3 ABY (After Battle of Yavin) and 4 ABY, which places it in the period after Empire Strikes Back and before Return of the Jedi. The Battle of Yavin is the conflict that ended with Luke Skywalker destroying the first Death Star, which means the game is around three years after A New Hope.

During this timeframe, Han Solo is trapped in Carbonite which all but rules him out of a real appearance, other than the frozen outline of him we’ve seen in the trailers. However, Lando Calrissian is confirmed to show up as one of the Experts who will help Kay Vess earn new abilities on her journey.

Han Solo in carbonite in Star Wars Outlaws
Han Solo is set to appear, but he’s still trapped after Episode V.

Meanwhile, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, and their droid and Wookie companions are searching the galaxy for Han, so there’s every chance you could cross paths with those iconic characters along the way.

When it comes to the wider picture, the Galactic Civil War is still raging on during Star Wars Outlaws, as can be seen by the many Stormtroopers roaming the planets and Imperials that act as the in-game wanted system.

This is also the period where Palpatine and Darth Vader have begun building the second Death Star, so don’t be surprised to see or hear some references to the Empire’s plan.

Star Wars Outlaws timeline

If you want to know exactly where Star Wars Outlaws fits in terms of other major Star Wars movies, TV shows, and games, check out the timeline below:

  • Episode I – The Phantom Menace (32 BBY)
  • Episode II – Attack of the Clones (22BBY)
  • The Clone Wars (22 BBY – 19 BBY)
  • Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY)
  • The Bad Batch (19 BBY – 18 BBY)
  • Jedi: Fallen Order (14 BBY)
  • Solo (13 BBY – 10 BBY)
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi (9 BBY)
  • Jedi: Survivor (9 BBY)
  • Andor (5 BBY)
  • Rogue One (0 BBY)
  • Episode IV – A New Hope (0 BBY)
  • Episode V – Empire Strikes Back (3 ABY)
  • Star Wars Outlaws (3 ABY – 4 ABY)
  • Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)
  • The Mandalorian (9 ABY)
  • Episode VII – The Force Awakens (34 ABY)
  • Episode VII – The Last Jedi (34 ABY)
  • Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker (35 ABY)

That was everything you need to know about when Star Wars Outlaws takes place on the timeline. The game is available for pre-order now ahead of its August 30 release date, but in the meantime, you can fill the gap with Star Wars: Hunters.

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech