Connect with us

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II

Modern Warfare 2 & Warzone 2 new Battle Pass system explained

Here’s what you need to know about the new Battle Pass system that’s set to launch in the Warzone 2 and Modern Warfare 2 Season 1 update.



modern warfare 2 season 1 battle pass

Warzone 2 and Modern Warfare 2 Season 1 will arrive with a brand-new Battle Pass system that gets rid of linear progression, here’s everything you need to know.

Modern Warfare 2 has been breaking records like crazy, becoming the best-selling Call of Duty game of all time, and the game hasn’t even had its first season of content yet.

With Modern Warfare 2 Season 1 set to arrive soon, bringing Warzone 2, new weapons, and the return of both Shoot House and Shipment, players are excited to grind their way through an entirely new Battle Pass.

Having said that, the grind will be slightly different this time, as Activision have decided to revamp the way in which the Battle Pass works for both Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2, so let’s get into the details.

How to level up Battle Pass in Warzone 2 & Modern Warfare 2

In Modern Warfare 2 and Warzone 2 Season 1, players will be progressing through the Battle Pass with “more choices and more agency than ever before.”

Activision have scrapped the “linear stream of tiers” for a new “multi-Sector map.” Now, players will be looking at a map and using earned Battle Pass Token Tier Skips to unlock items across the map, which will be themed for whichever season the game is in.

Modern Warfare 2 Warzone 2 Season 1 Battle Pass A1 Sector

“Battle Token Tier Skips are earned simply by playing the game, like Tiers in the old system.” Battle Token Tier Skips that you do not use are automatically spent at the end of the season if you do not use them.

Each Sector contains a main unlock which is known as the High Value Target or HVT. As you can see from the image above, the HVT in Sector A1 is a weapon blueprint and there are four items beneath it that must be unlocked before proceeding to the HVT.

It’s important to note that you must unlock the entire Sector before moving on to a new one.

The Battle Pass map will have “at least 20 Sectors with five items in each Sector,” adding up to 100 items. This new system allows players to pick and choose which items they would like to focus on, but there’s a catch.

Once the Sector is fully unlocked and you’ve earned the HVT item, “you are free to advance to any adjacent Sector.” You cannot move across the map at will seeing as you’ll have to stick to a neighboring Sector.

In the example of A1 shown above, players can move to either A2 or A3.

“100 Battle Token Tier Skips are required to complete the Battle Pass,” and there’ll be a special reward for those who do so each season.

Players will have control over how they wish to spend their Battle Pass Token Tier Skips, deciding whether they’d like to embark on the quickest path toward a new Operator skin or one of the new weapons.

Players will need to decide which Sector is most enticing to them, pick it, then start unlocking the items with Tokens.

For more Modern Warfare 2 guides, check out the best guns and best controller settings to use.

Image Credits: Activision