The Finals Ranked Tournament explained: Format, Leagues & rewards

Nathan Warby
The Finals players running down street

The Finals has entered Season 2 after a successful launch and as expected, the developers have added a ton of new content alongside major balance changes. If you aim to climb the ranks with ease, here’s everything to know about The Finals Ranked Tournament, including format, leagues, and rewards.

Since its release in December 2023, The Finals has received praise from many fans worldwide, but thanks to the fierce competition in the genre, the game couldn’t sustain a major chunk of its player base throughout Season 1.

Now that Season 2 is here with new Gadgets, weapons, Specializations, and a lot more, we’ve witnessed another spike in the player count. The Ranked Tournament has been updated as well, and you’ll have to restart your grind to reach the highest ranks.

On that note, here’s everything to know about The Finals Ranked Tournament, including its format, Leagues, and rewards.

The Finals Ranked Tournament format explained

The Finals Ranked Tournament rules screenshot
Each Ranked Tournament is made up of multiple rounds.

Unlike the regular modes, each Ranked Tournament in The Finals is made up of 48 players broken into 16 teams. Tournaments play out over four rounds, with the top two teams progressing from each match.

This culminates in a final that puts the two strongest teams against one another in a head-to-head match, with whoever earns the most cash being crowned the winner.

You can get cash by killing other players and through Cashout stations. There are multiple cash boxes spread across the map and your goal is to collect and deposit them at the stations.

The rules of each match are tweaked to make life a little more challenging though, as players don’t have access to Reserve weapons or gadgets mid-round.

How to unlock Ranked Tournament in The Finals

You can unlock Ranked Tournament in The Finals by playing a minimum of 60 rounds. You can finish this objective in casual game modes and the mechanic is quite similar to other shooters like Valorant, Overwatch 2, and Warzone that expect players to be experienced enough before entering the ranked modes.

The Finals Tournament Ranking System: All Leagues & rewards

The Finals Ranked Tournament rewards sceenshot
Each new League brings a new reward.

The Finals Ranked Tournament has five Leagues for players to work through, each with their own sub-ranks in between. Each tournament played gives points based on how far your squad progresses and how much cash you earn in each round.

Here’s a breakdown of all the Leagues in The Finals Ranked Tournament:

  • Bronze
    • Bronze 4
    • Bronze 3
    • Bronze 2
    • Bronze 1
  • Silver
    • Silver 4
    • Silver 3
    • Silver 2
    • Silver 1
  • Gold
    • Gold 4
    • Gold 3
    • Gold 2
    • Gold 1
  • Platinum
    • Platinum 4
    • Platinum 3
    • Platinum 2
    • Platinum 1
  • Diamond
    • Diamond 4
    • Diamond 3
    • Diamond 2
    • Diamond 1

The Finals Ranked Tournament rewards include weapons skins, charms, accessories, and cosmetics and you can collect them at the end of the season. You also get permanent rewards for reaching a certain league:

  • Gold – Golden M60 skin
  • Platinum– Platinum XP \50 skin
  • Diamond – Diamond FCAR skin

How to get a placement rank in The Finals

You can unlock a rank in The Finals by playing eight Placement rounds that’ll place you somewhere between Bronze and Gold. This is different from Season 1, where everyone started from Bronze. Individual performance will play a major role in rank placement this time around, and the developers aim to improve the system throughout the season through careful observation and testing.

How to increase your rank in The Finals

You can increase your rank in The Finals by acquiring Fame Points which are naturally granted when you win games. As it turns out, only losing the first knockout round in a Ranked Tourmanet punishes you by reducing your Fame Points. Progressing to the second knockout round and later will grant you points.

Although consistently reaching Round 2 will contribute to your Ranked progression, winning tournaments is the quickest way to accumulate the most amount of Fame Points. Winning a tournament hands out over 600 Points and the exact amount depends on your current rank and the position you’ve held in a round (the team which qualifies by being in the second position gets less FP).

Luckily, The Finals doesn’t demote you from a league. For instance, if you’ve reached Platinum 4, losing a few games won’t result in your league dropping to Gold.

That was everything you need to know about Ranked Tournament in The Finals. For more on the Embark Studios new FPS, check out our other guides:

How to change your name in The Finals | The Finals: How to counter Gas, Fire & Goo | How many people play The Finals?  | The Finals: How to use Reserve loadout to switch weapon & Gadgets | Are The Finals servers down? | Does The Finals have SBMM? | Does The Finals have cross-progression?

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech