Fortnite OG update schedule: All Chapter 1 seasons, map changes & release dates

Nathan Warby
Cube over Loot Lake in Fortnite OG Chapter 1 Season 6Epic Games

Fortnite OG brings back the Chapter 1 map and weapons that players remember, and regular updates will transport them to a different classic era. Here’s a breakdown of every Chapter 1 season update coming in Fortnite Chapter 4 Season 5 and their release dates.

Fortnite Chapter 4 Season 5 has been one of the most successful updates to date, transporting players back in time to the beloved Chapter 1 map. The season, titled Fortnite OG, shattered player count records and the community has begged the devs to keep it as a permanent mode once Chapter 5 rolls around.

The original Season 5 map was the first destination, with iconic POIs like Tilted Towers returning, but more updates are planned as the game gradually cycles through Chapter 1.

So, here’s a breakdown of when each Fortnite OG update will arrive and which season it brings.

Fortnite OG updates explained

Paradise Palms in FortniteEpic Games
Fortnite OG brings back popular locations from Chapter 1.

Each update during Fortnite OG will transport the game to a different Chapter 1 season. The Chapter 4 Season 5 patch started with Season 5, but POIs, weapons, and vehicles from other points in Fortnite’s history will be released with each hotfix.

Sometimes the game will concentrate on one season at a time, while other updates will bring a combination of map changes and weapons from multiple different Chapter 1 seasons. However, Epic Games confirmed in the patch notes that certain items will crossover into updates that they didn’t originally appear in.

Article continues after ad

“Some of the unvaulted gear in each update will remain for that update, be in more than one update, or stay for the rest of Fortnite OG,” said the devs.

Fortnite OG: Every Chapter 1 season release date

There are two updates still to come in Fortnite OG after the November 9 hotfix went live, each delivering content from a fresh Chapter 1 season. Epic Games have revealed some of the additions coming with each patch, so here’s a breakdown of every Fortnite OG update and their release dates:

UpdateRelease DateChapter 1 season(s)Confirmed Content
27.10November 16, 2023Season 7 & 8Frosty Flights, Flint-Knock Pistol, Minigun, Quad Launcher, Poison Dart Trap, Itemized Glider Redeploy, Buried Treasure, X-4 Stormwing, Pirate Cannon.
27.11November 23, 2023Season 9 & XHeavy Sniper Rifle, Proximity Grenade Launcher, Air Strike, Junk Rift, Storm Flip, Jetpack, The Baller.

The devs have also confirmed that more items and locations will arrive in each update than the ones mentioned here, as these are only “part” of what’s in store.

That was everything you need to know about the Fortnite OG update schedule and every Chapter 1 season coming to the game. We’ll be sure to update this page with more details once they’re announced.

In the meantime, be sure to check out our other guides:

How to land at Hot Spots in Fortnite | All Fortnite Weekly Quests | Fortnite Exotic weapon locations |  All Fortnite Reality Augments | What does Siphon mean in Fortnite? | What are account levels in Fortnite? | All Fortnite NPC locations | Best weapons in Fortnite ranked

About The Author

Nathan is a Senior Writer for CharlieIntel and Dexerto, primarily covering FIFA and Call of Duty, as well as general gaming news and guides. After leaving university with a degree in Sports Studies and a master's degree in Magazine Journalism, he took on a role as a local news reporter before moving into games media. You can contact Nathan by email at [email protected].