Destiny 2 Into the Light: Release date & time, new PvP maps, Onslaught mode, more

Aakash Regmi
Onslaught mode in Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Into the Light will add new modes like Onslaught and Boss Rush along with some highly-requested PvP content. Here’s everything we know about the free update. 

The Destiny 2 Into the Light DLC is a free update that acts like a bridge between the Lightfall and The Final Shape campaigns.

This DLC has brought some highly requested changes and content to the game in the form of weapons, PvP maps, and activities.

Here’s a rundown of all that is arriving with the Into the Light update in Destiny 2. 

Destiny 2 Into the Light release date

Destiny 2 Into the Light is releasing on April 9 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM GMT after the weekly reset.

The downtime for the Into the Light expansion is currently underway and is expected to conclude by 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM GMT. Considering that this is a major update, the downtime might be extended should the developers run into any unforeseen errors.

Destiny 2 Into the Light PvP maps

Destiny 2 Into the Light will add three new maps to Crucible: 

  • Cirrus Plaza (Neomuna)
  • Eventide Labs (Europa)
  • Essence (Pyramid Ship)

These maps will be available on May 7, and Bungie says they’ll also be available to play in a separate playlist at launch and are designed to provide a more competitive experience. 

All new modes in Destiny 2 Into the Light

Destiny 2 Into the Light will add two new modes, both of which are PvE, Onslaught and Pantheon

Onslaught will be part of the ritual activity and is essentially a Horde Mode, which means you’ll be facing waves of enemies in all the familiar locations from the past and present. Onslaught will go live with the release of Into The Light on April 9.

Pantheon, meanwhile, is a boss rush mode where you’ll face Raid bosses in a gauntlet. Bungie haven’t yet shared the exact specifics of the mode, with more said to be revealed in the coming weeks as the mode will go live on April 30. And, yes, devs did say that it’ll drop Raid loot. 

New armor in Destiny 2 Into the Light

Destiny 2 Into the Light will also add one brand-new armor set for each class. All of these can be obtained by earning Trophies of Bravery. 

Trophies of Bravery are new rank unlocks for Shaxx, Shaxx Hype, and in the update, he can be visited in a new hub called, The Halls of Champions. They can also be obtained by playing other core activities, including ritual and seasonal. Here is a look at the armor: 

Onslaught new armor set in Destiny 2
Shaxx’s new rank can also be increased by playing Onslaught.

Returning exotic missions in Destiny 2 Into the Light

Destiny 2 Into the Light will see the return of two Exotic missions:

  • Whisper Mission — Whisper of the Worm (available at launch).
  • Zero Hour Mission — Outbreak Perfected (available on May 7).

This, of course, means that both of the Exotics will be craftable by playing the mission. As usual, they’ll also have intrinsic perks that can be unlocked via certain rotated challenges every three weeks. 

Destiny 2 Into the Light Brave Arsenal explained: All weapons

Destiny 2 Into The Light will bring back 12 iconic weapons with redesigned looks and new perks. Each of these 12 weapons will be released at a different time, so here are all the returning weapons based on their launch dates. 

On launch:

  • The Recluse(SMG)
  • Hung Jury SR4 (Scout Rifle)
  • Elsie’s Rifle (Pulse Rifle)
  • Succession (Sniper Rifle)
  • Edge Transit (Grenade Launcher)
  • Falling Guillotine (Sword)

Added later (all before April 30):

  • Forbearance (Grenade Launcher)
  • The Mountaintop (Grenade Launcher)
  • Hammerhead (Machine Gun)
  • Blast Furnace (Pulse Rifle)
  • Luna’s Howl (Hand Canon)
  • Midnight Coup (Hand Canon)

The exact schedule for the below six weapons is unclear. Bungie previously slated them for a weekly release until May 21, but now all of these will be available before April 31, which means we may get two weapons each week. 

All the weapons are new versions, and the ones you may currently own will not be upgraded to these. 

They’re all part of BRAVE Arsenal and can be collected by completing a quest given by Arcite and from Shaxx’s chest, both at the new hub, The Hall of Champions, as well as from Onslaught chests. 

In the new hub, The Hall of Champions, you’ll also find Shaxx, who will have his own set of rewards and quests, and it includes Superblack shader as rank unlock.

That’s everything about the Into The Light update in Destiny 2. All mentioned content will be available for free, for all players. We’ll be sure to update this article once more information is revealed about the same. Until then, for more on Destiny 2, check out: 

Destiny 2 Wish-Keeper: All Catalysts & how to get them | Destiny 2 stat tracker: How to check your stats | Destiny 2 codes for free Emblems and Shaders | Destiny 2 Season of the Wish: All Starcat locations | Destiny 2 Season of the Wish: Artifact Perks & Best Build | How to get Monte Carlo Catalyst in Destiny 2 | Best Destiny 2 PVP weapons | Destiny 2 Season of the Wish: How to get Dragon’s Breath Catalyst 

Related Topics

About The Author

Aakash Regmi is a Games Writer at CharlieIntel and primarily covers Genshin Impact, Call of Duty, and major racing games. Before joining CharlieIntel in July 2023, he wrote for Collider, Hard Drive, DualShockers, and Try Hard Guides. You can contact him at [email protected].