How Call of Duty Weapon Progression system has changed

Keshav Bhat

Call of Duty Weapon Progression system has changed ever since Modern Warfare 3 was out. All games before that had the basic system of getting x kills gives you x attachments. Let’s take a look at how the system has changed over the years.

Modern Warfare 1 through Modern Warfare 2:

For all these Call of Duty games, the weapon progression system was similar. You had to get “X” number of kills with a certain weapon to unlock “X” attachment for the weapons. In order to unlock camos you had to get “x” amount of head shots.

Black Ops 1: 

For Black Ops 1, Treyrach added the COD Points where you had to buy attachments for guns. You don’t have to use challenges.

Modern Warfare 3

In Modern Warfare 3, Infinity Ward added the ability for guns to have their own leveling system. Every gun had a highest level of 31. Getting kills with the weapons would help progress the weapons levels, and with each level you got new attachments and camos. And, in MW3, they added the new Weapon proficiencies. These added abilities for your gun to have less sway, better aim, etc.


Call of Duty: Black Ops II


With Black Ops 2 Treyarch brought back the leveling system for weapons, however they varied it slightly. The game only used the leveling system to unlock attachments. Camos still require head shots and other challenges to unlock. Each gun had a different number of levels.

What system do you want to see in Call of Duty: Ghosts? Something completely new or the original style?

About The Author

Keshav Bhat is the Co-Founder of, the world's largest Call of Duty news site. Based in Atlanta, Keshav also serves as the Head of Social Media for Dexerto network, running a network of over 10 million social followers. Keshav can be contacted for tips at [email protected]