How to upgrade cars in Forza Motorsport

Stephanie Zucarelli
Forza Motorsport

Forza Motorsport features a new car progression system that centers around players driving their cars as much as possible. This grants them Car Points which can then be used for upgrades. On that note, here’s how to upgrade cars in Forza Motorsport.

Turn 10 Studios have revamped the car progression system in Forza Motorsport. Car upgrades in the game are now locked behind car levels with each car leveling up individually. Moreover, buying upgrades requires a specified amount of Car Points.

Each car maxes out at level 50, however, all upgrades can be obtained before hitting the level cap. These upgrades are important to remain competitive across all modes in the game. So here’s how to upgrade cars in Forza Motorsport, including the required levels for all upgrades.

How to upgrade your car in Forza Motorsport

You can access the Upgrades menu in Forza Motorsport from the main menu, you’ll then want to select Cars followed by Upgrade & Tune. You can select the car you wish to upgrade there.

When you first start with a car, you’ll have 300 Car Points to spend on upgrades. If you’re unsure about what to spend them on first, you can choose the Quick Upgrade tool, which will automatically apply upgrades suited for a balanced build.

Forza Motorsport Upgrade Menu
You can see the level requirement for each car part in the Upgrade menu.

If you want to upgrade your car manually, you can go to the Performance option after selecting your car. You’ll see the first set of upgrades for your car and a brief overview of how your upgrades affect your car with Forza Motorsport’s Performance Index.

As you level up, you can refund the Car Points you’ve already used and spend them on new upgrades unlocked in different levels.

Forza Motorsport: All car upgrades & levels

Forza Motorsport includes a list of car upgrades that can be unlocked by leveling up your cars. Here’s the full list of every upgrade and the level required to unlock them in Forza Motorsport.

Car Level 1 Upgrades: 

  • Exhaust 
  • Air Filter 
  • Restrictor Plate 
  • Intake Manifold and Throttle Body 
  • Oil and Cooling 
  • Brakes 
  • Chassis Reinforcement and Roll Cage 
  • Ballast 
  • Wheels

Car Level 2 Upgrades: 

  • Front Tire Width 
  • Rear Tire Width 

Car Level 3 Upgrades: 

  • Front Anti-Roll Bars 
  • Rear Anti-Roll Bars 
  • Tire Compound

Car Level 5 Upgrades: 

  • Fuel System
  • Spring and Dampers

Car Level 6 Upgrades: 

  • Flywheel
  • Drivetrain
  • Differential

Car Level 7 Upgrades: 

  • Ignition  
  • Clutch 

Car Level 8 Upgrades: 

  • Driveline
  • Rear Wing

Car Level 9 Upgrades: 

  • Front Bumper
  • Rear Bumper
  • Hood
  • Side Skirts

Car Level 12 Upgrades: 

  • Single Turbo
  • Intercooler
  • Weight Reduction
  • Aspiration Conversion

Car Level 13 Upgrades: 

  • Camshaft

Car Level 14 Upgrades: 

  • Valves

Car Level 15 Upgrades: 

  • Displacement
  • Pistons and Compression

Car Level 20 Upgrades: 

  • Bodykit

Car Level 25 Upgrades: 

  • Engine Swap
  • Drivetrain Swap

That was how to upgrade cars in Forza Motorsport, including the required car levels for all upgrades. For more on the game, check out our other guides:

Is Forza Motorsport always online? I Is Forza Motorsport coming to Xbox One? I Will Forza Motorsport have a VR Mode? I All Forza Motorsport achievements I Forza Motorsport PC requirements: Minimum & recommended specs I Will Forza Motorsport be on Steam Deck? I How to change car design in Forza Motorsport

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech