Diablo 4 Season 5 – Infernal Hordes new endgame mode

Stephanie Zucarelli
Diablo 4 Infernal Horde preview

Diablo 4 Season 5 will introduce a new endgame activity called Infernal Hordes, where players can put their builds to the test and defeat waves of demons to gain the Spoils of Hell.

While they work similarly to Helltides, Diablo 4’s take on a rogue-lite mode can only be faced after entering the Realm of Hatred. If you’re wondering how to do so, here’s everything you’ll need to complete before facing them in Diablo 4.

Infernal Hordes explained

The Infernal Hordes are a rogue-lite feature coming to Diablo 4 Season 5 where players will have to defeat endless waves of Hell’s Legions in the Realm of Hatred. Similar to Helltides, is an endgame activity where you’ll have to exterminate evil creatures to win Burning Aether.

If you are set on challenging these demons, you’ll have to survive waves that last 90 seconds each and defeat every enemy on sight. After each wave, you’ll get to decide between three Infernal Offers.

After surviving several hordes in the Tier you selected, you’ll advance to the Well of Hatred and then battle the Fell Council. This council was formed by noble priests who are now corrupted and have sided with demons to exterminate humanity.

There are five members of the Fell Council, and each has a different unique ability. You’ll have to defeat three different members every time you face them, which are selected at random. After vanquishing them, you’ll get to spend your Burning Aether on the Spoils of Hell.

What are Infernal Offers in Diablo 4?

After defeating each Infernal Horde, Hell will give you a choice of three different Boons & Banes that will modify your run. These are called Infernal Offers and they’ll stack across the duration of your entire run.

Keep in mind that Infernal Offers can increase the difficulty of your game, which will allow you to earn more Burning Aether.

Diablo 4 Season 5 Infernal Offers
You can choose Infernal Offers after defeating each wave.

How does Infernal Compass work

The Infernal Compass is an item that will drop at Tiers I-III in Diablo 4, and can be used to enter the Realm of Hatred. A Hell Compass can be farmed from Endgame bosses, Helltides, Nightmare Dungeons, and Whispers.

You can also use them to select the difficulty of your Infernal Horde run. There are eight Tiers of Infernal Compasses, which scale in difficulty and World Tier. Each Tier increases the number of waves starting at five for Tiers I-III, increasing until a maximum of 10 waves with a Tier VIII Infernal Compass.

Diablo 4 Infernal Compass
You can get Infernal Compasses after defeating endgame bosses, as Whisper bounties, and more.

You can also earn Abyssal Scrolls to upgrade your Infernal Compass, which will allow you to increase its level to Tier VIII. Keep in mind that changing Tiers will increase the starting difficulty demons and the amount of rewards while decreasing your number of revives.

Infernal Compasses can be used at the following levels and World Tiers:

  • Tier I
    • Available at World Tier III
  • Tier II
    • Available at World Tier IV
    • Includes Bonus Affixes which increase crafting materials, and Legendary and Unique Drop rates!
  • Tier III
    • Available at Level 100
    • Includes Bonus Affixes
    • Includes Spoil of Greater Equipment

Infernal Hordes rewards

In Diablo 4 Season 5, you can earn Burning Aether as a reward after slaying Aether Fiends and Aether Lords or by destroying Soulspires and Aetheric Masses. Getting this material will allow you to unlock powerful new weapons and the Spoils of Hell.

There are four different Spoils of Hell available after completing an Infernal Hordes run:

  • Spoils of Equipment
  • Spoils of Materials
  • Spoils of Gold
  • Spoils of Greater Equipment
    • This Spoil of Hell guarantees an item with a Greater Affix.

Season 5 “The Eyes of the Enemy” is set to solve most problems reported during Diablo 4 Season of Loot Reborn and its story will be a transition ending in the Vessel of Hatred DLC. If you want to be prepared for everything in Season 5, check out how to save time while farming for mats and what you need to refine your build.