Vanguard’s post-Warzone 2 future revealed: Progression, Battle Pass, Ranked Play

Liam Mackay
Vanguard player firing their weapon.

With Modern Warfare 2 here and Warzone 2 on the horizon, Sledgehammer Games have outlined what players can expect for Call of Duty: Vanguard in its postseason. 

With Modern Warfare 2 now here and acting as a clean slate, Call of Duty: Vanguard marks the end of the previous generation of Call of Duty. Modern Warfare, Cold War, and Vanguard were all connected through Warzone, but that’s all being left behind for Warzone 2 bringing a clean slate on November 16. 

With Vanguard’s final season, Season 5, ending on November 16, Sledgehammer Games have outlined what’s in store for Vanguard’s postseason, including changes to progression, the Battle Pass, and future of its Ranked Play. 

Progression changes coming to Vanguard’s postseason

With Vanguard Season 5 coming to an end on November 16 and no more seasons to come, Sledgehammer announced in a November 2 blog post that the level cap will be raised to 2,500. 

“This change will allow players to reach all 23 Prestige Levels and earn all 12 Prestige Master Ribbons,” Sledgehammer explained. Plus, all of the Seasonal Challenges will still be there to be completed. 

Modern Warfare, Cold War, and Warzone will still be synched with Vanguard, so your season level will persist across all of these games. 

Seraph running in Vanguard

Vanguard & Warzone Season 5 Battle Pass removed

With Season 5 wrapping up on November 16, the devs have also confirmed that the Season 5 Battle Pass will be disabled.

This means you’ll need to finish all of the tiers before November 16 if you want to claim all the rewards. This means the Battle Pass will also be removed from Modern Warfare, Warzone, and Black Ops Cold War. 

The Battle Pass weapons, the EX1 and RA 225, will then be unlocked through these challenges:

  • EX1 (Assault Rifle)
    • In Multiplayer, get 15 Hipfire Kills while moving.
    • In Zombies, get 100 Eliminations using Assault Rifles bought off walls.
  • RA 225 (Submachine Gun)
    • In Multiplayer, get 15 Headshot Kills.
    • In Zombies, use SMGs to eliminate 10 Sturmkreigers.

Vanguard & Cold War Ranked Play to be discontinued

Vanguard’s Ranked Play and Cold War’s League Play allow CoD fans to play like the pros, but the modes will be retired in favor of Modern Warfare 2’s Ranked Play that arrives in 2023. 

The devs confirmed that players will need to earn all of the rewards before November 23 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM GMT.

For more on Call of Duty’s future, you can check out everything we know about what’s happening to Warzone after Warzone 2 releases. 

Image Credit: Sledgehammer Games

Related Topics

About The Author

Liam is CharlieIntel's Editor. After graduating in Journalism from Edinburgh Napier University, Liam made use of his passion for FPS games, including Call of Duty, by writing for sites such as The Nerd Stash, Red Bull Gaming, and GAMINGbible before joining CharlieIntel in November 2020. You can contact Liam at [email protected].

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech