World of Warcraft: Dragonflight – Release date, level cap, new race, zones & more

Andrew Highton
world of warcraft dragonflight cover art

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight looks all set to bolster the game’s ever-growing pool of content with a new race, areas, and more. So, let’s dive into the upcoming WoW DLC expansion.

The World of Warcraft series is closing in on its twentieth anniversary and Blizzard Entertainment is showing no signs of stopping when it comes to WoW as the company is preparing its ninth expansion pack entitled Dragonflight.

It’s set to be one of the biggest releases in 2022 and will compete against plenty of other AAA monsters in the holiday period.

WoW’s MMO formula continues to draw players each and every year and Dragonflight is showing all the signs of retaining these qualities. The new DLC expansion will allow for more options and creativity than ever before with a new race, as well as a whole new area to explore split into several zones.

Let’s take a look at everything we know about the World of Warcraft: Dragonflight expansion.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight release date

The wait for the World of Warcraft: Dragonflight expansion is nearly over as the DLC will be made available to purchase on November 28, 2022.

dragon flying in world of warcraft dragon flight

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight new race & class

One of the big-time inclusions for the Dragonflight expansion is the welcoming of the new Dracthyr race featuring a new class in the Evoker.

Article continues after ad

Blizzard has confirmed new details regarding the new race: “Dracthyr start at Level 58.”

Not only that, but they will wear Mail Armor, begin in their own specific zone, and also have two exclusive specializations: a mid-range DPS and a healer.

Over the years, the extent of WoW’s races has expanded considerably with the game now providing up to 24 races to choose from.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight new mount

Unsurprisingly, given the DLC’s name, WoW players who procure the Dragonflight expansion will be able to own their own Dragon, customize it with different styles, and traverse the map with it as well.

You’ll be able to fly on your mount from the get-go and it will have its own specific physics to learn and master, so it won’t be a simple case of flying from A to B.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight new Zones

A new expansion means new lands to explore, scavenge, and pillage. ‘The Dragon Isles’ are the home of World of Warcraft: Dragonflight and will officially have five different zones for players to investigate:

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech
  • Waking Shores
  • Ohn’ahran Plains
  • Azure Span
  • Thaldraszus
  • Forbidden Reach

Azaroth has been a constantly growing world over the years and The Dragon Isles, home of the dragons, will seek to delve even further into World of Warcraft’s esteemed lore.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight professions, UI overhaul & more

Outside of the headline features, there is still plenty to look forward to in Dragonflight with Blizzard confirming that Professions will be getting a rejig, there will be new Dungeons, a new Raid, as well as a long overdue shake-up for the game’s UI.

Article continues after ad


Blizzard explained how Crafting Orders, Specialisations, Stats, and Quality are the new ways in which professions will change the game’s crafting, how you can manipulate your own field of work, as well as new quality levels to judge the excellence, or not, of your work.


There’s plenty of dungeon-dwelling in this DLC as there will be a grand total of eight new Dungeons making their way to World of Warcraft.

Four will be immediately available when you step foot in The Dragon Isles, and the other four will be accessible once you reach the new cap of Level 70.

Here is the complete list of the new Dungeons in Dragonflight:

  • Algeth’ar Academy
  • Brackenhide Hollow
  • Halls of Infusion
  • Neltharus
  • Ruby Life Pools
  • The Nokhud Offensive
  • The Azure Vault
  • Uldaman: Legacy of Tyr


Vault of the Incarnates represents the first Raid in Blizzard’s latest expansion and it will ask players to topple eight bosses en route to successfully completing it!

These are the fearsome foes you will come up against:

  • Broodkeeper Diurna
  • Dathea, Ascended
  • Eranog
  • Kurog Grimtotem
  • Raszageth the Storm-Eater
  • Sennarth, The Cold Breath
  • Terros
  • The Primalist Council

UI changes

Suffice it to say that Blizzard hasn’t updated WoW’s UI in a while, which would be an understatement. However, this is changing with Dragonflight as users will have more control over how they want it to look as well as tailor the UI to specific presets for certain races/classes.

Article continues after ad

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight trailers

Dragonflight was announced to the world with an unbelievably epic 5-minute trailer that showed off, cinematically, The Dragon Isles and inferred a bunch of the new content that would later be announced.

The DLC expansion’s release date was confirmed on September 29, 2022, with a new trailer that gave players a sneak peek at the gameplay they could look forward to.

That wraps up everything we know about World of Warcraft: Dragonflight, with this knowledge in the bank, why not check out our other game hubs below:

God of War Ragnarok | Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 | Call of Duty: Warzone 2 | GoldenEye 007 | Assassin’s Creed Mirage | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | Cyberpunk 2077 Phantom Liberty DLC | The Division Heartland | Hogwarts Legacy

Related Topics

About The Author

A content creator for Charlie INTEL / Dexerto that earned a degree, wrote for PlusXP, Twinfinite, and Keengamer, before finally securing his dream job of being a professional video game writer. When not writing about games, he's very busy playing every game in existence and adding to his 11,000+ PlayStation Trophies and 150+ Platinums. You can contact him at [email protected].