Clash Royale Star Points & Star Level explained

Aakrit Sharma
Wizard, Knight, and Musketeer in Clash Royale

Clash Royale grants players free cosmetic enhancements for their cards through Star Points and Star Levels. If you’re yet to explore these features, check out this guide that explains everything about Star Points and Star Levels in the game.

Just like Clash of Clans, Clash Royale is a free-to-play friendly game with a balanced meta. With common skills like the Zap, you can defeat Legendary units like Sparky and none of the cards feel overpowered.

Having said that, many gamers love spending on cosmetics, and the Clash Royale community is no exception. From tower skins to chests, you can purchase several items to improve the look and aura of your cards.

Interestingly, Clash Royale also grants free visual upgrades through Star Points and Star Levels, and here’s everything to know about them.

Clash Royale's King looking at a map

What are Star Points in Clash Royale?

Star Points in Clash Royale help in unlocking cosmetic upgrades for cards and you can unlock this mechanic after reaching King Level 6. They provide the card with a golden deployment effect and golden clothes, ornaments, and animations, among other things at different levels.

How to get Star Points in Clash Royale

You can get Star Points in Clash Royale through Chests after reaching King Level 6. The amount of Star Points depends on the rarity of the card in the chest, and this table should make things clear:

Card RarityStar Points obtained from it

Moreover, you can tap on the XP bar in the top left corner of your in-game home screen and turn it into Star Points. This way, activities like donating and upgrading cards that used to grant you XP will hand out Star Points instead.

What are Star Levels in Clash Royale?

All cards in Clash Royale have 1-3 Star Levels that signify the number of times they can be upgraded through Star Points. For every card that supports them, Star Levels unlock at levels 7, 10, and 13.

Every time you upgrade a card’s Star Level in the game, it gets a unique visual upgrade such as golden armor and golden clothes. However, it is essential to note that these upgrades are purely cosmetic and not competitive.

In the image below, you’ll notice how some cards have three Star Levels and others two:

Clash Royale cards with different Star Levels

How to increase a card’s Star Level in Clash Royale

To increase a card’s Star Level in Clash Royale, simply launch the game and tap on the desired card in the Cards tab. Alongside the standard Coin upgrade, you’ll notice a green button saying Star Level if the cosmetic upgrade is available.

The amount of Star Points required to increase a card’s Star Level has been mentioned in the table below:

Star LevelStar Points requiredCard Level Required

Well, this was everything to know about Star Points and Star Levels in Clash Royale. For similar content, you can check out our guides on how to get better at Clash Royale, the top undefeated decks in the game, and the best Firecracker decks.

Image Credits: Supercell

Related Topics

About The Author

Aakrit is a games writer with over 2000 published articles for EssentiallySports, Sportskeeda, FortniteINTEL, and CharlieINTEL. Currently, he writes guides on Minecraft, Roblox, Pokemon games, Genshin Impact, and Brawlhalla. Aakrit loves playing shooter games and in his free time, you can find him queued up in Valorant, Fortnite, Apex Legends, or Halo Infinite. You can contact Aakrit at [email protected].