Vanguard Prestige system explained

Luca Di Marzo
Vanguard Prestige System explained

The Vanguard Prestige system offers players an incentive to grind the game and earn bragging rights along the way.

The Prestige system is an aspect of the Call of Duty franchise that undergoes changes with each new title.

Prior to Vanguard’s release, fans voiced their opinions on the return of the iconic Prestige system from Modern Warfare 2. Ultimately, Sledgehammer decided to move forward with a new system for Vanguard. 

Vanguard preseason progression

Prestige three screen Vanguard

Vanguard is currently in “preseason”. You may have noticed the Battle Pass isn’t fully equipped with Vanguard rewards. This is because Season 1 of Vanguard is coming early December. The developers likely chose this time frame to coincide with the release of Warzone Pacific Caldera

Article continues after ad

During the preseason, you will earn experience that raises your player rank. Just about everything you do in Vanguard from completing multiplayer challenges to getting kills increases your player rank. 

Player ranks start at 1 and will increase all the way to 55. Once you hit player rank 55, things start to get a little complicated. After level 55 you enter Prestige Rank 1 and earn the title of Commander. At this point, things move from player ranks to the Season Level system. 

Article continues after ad
Vanguard Commander level 55 with operator.

Prestige 1 Season Level 1 is where players will start after hitting player rank 55. Season Level 50 will take them to Prestige 2, while Season Level 100 opens the door to Prestige 3. Of course, with each Prestige comes valuable rewards.

Sign up to Charlie INTEL for free and receive:
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech

Here’s what to expect with each checkpoint.

  • Prestige 1 (Season Level 1) – Battle Pass tier skip, Prestige Emblem
  • Prestige 2 (Season Level 50) Battler Pass tier skip, Prestige Emblem, Weapon Blueprint
  • Prestige 3 (Season Level 100) Battler Pass tier skip, Prestige Emblem 

Each season of Vanguard will have a maximum Prestige rank. Although we don’t currently know what rank that will be for Season 1, those who reach the maximum rank can expect to receive the title of “Prestige Master”.

Article continues after ad

Will the Vanguard Prestige system reset unlocks?

Vanguard prestige weapon blueprints

You can rest easy knowing that your unlocks, including weapon progress, do not reset with each new prestige. The one thing that will reset when a new Season is released is your Season Level.

For example, if a player has reached Prestige 2 Season Level 79 on the day Season 1 is set to release (December 2nd), that player will be bumped back down to Prestige 2 Level 50. Essentially, your progress between your current Prestige and the next will reset. 

Article continues after ad

Why are you stuck at level 1?

Several players have reported an issue that permanently displays their level as 1 after reaching Prestige 1 which has led many to believe that they aren’t gaining experience. Players can cool their rage as this doesn’t seem to be true.

The number you’ll see in the lobby is showing as the Prestige you are in rather than your level. To check your level visit the barracks screen. 

Whether this is intentional or yet another of the reported glitches to surface within the first week of Vanguard is up for debate. Keep an eye out for the first major patch later this week. 

Article continues after ad

Image Credits: Activision / Sledgehammer Games

Related Topics

About The Author

Luca is a Senior Writer at CharlieIntel. An accomplished, writer with interests in sports and gaming alike, Luca is focused on Call of Duty and FIFA as a content creator. After earning his BA in English Literature at Concordia University, he began writing for Gamelevate, OddsShark, and H4X. Luca joined CharlieIntel in 2021. You can reach Luca at [email protected], or via his Twitter @TheLucaDiMarzo.