How to Prestige in Modern Warfare 2

Andrew Highton
ghost operator and prestige emblem in cod mw2

Modern Warfare 2 has reverted back to an old-school Prestige system, so let’s take a quick dive into how the Prestige system works, and how to change to a Prestige Emblem.

Long-time fans of the iconic FPS franchise will be pleased to see that Modern Warfare 2 has reverted back to the Prestige system of yesteryear, replacing the recent seasonal reset that players have come to expect.

The OG days of Call of Duty saw players reach a max rank before the game would present them with the option of prestiging and starting again from Level 1, but with unlocked weapons and Perks that had been made permanent.

Modern Warfare 2 hasn’t completely embraced all of these ideas, but the majority of them have returned. So let’s go through the new Prestige system in Modern Warfare 2 and look at how it works.

different prestige emblems in modern warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige system explained

In Modern Warfare 2, once you reach Rank 56, the game will pop up to say that you’ve Prestiged, and you will officially enter Prestige Level 1, but you will retain your overall level.

This is known as Persistent Prestige and will allow players to carry over their rank from season to season, with the level cap increasing beyond Season 1.

If you manage to Prestige, you will be rewarded with cool goodies such as a new Prestige Emblem, new challenges, and the chance to unlock a special Calling Card.

How to equip Prestige Emblems in MW2

As we mentioned above, hitting the sacred Prestige mark will earn you a new Prestige Emblem for you to equip in the game menus, and doing it is very straightforward.

Here’s how to select an unlocked Prestige Emblem:

  1. Boot up Modern Warfare 2.
  2. Head to the game’s online multiplayer screen.
  3. Scroll across to the Customize tab.
  4. Now select Emblem.
  5. On this page, you should see all the available Emblems that you have at your disposal.
  6. Select the Prestige 1 Emblem and it will now be your default Emblem.

That sums up everything to do with the Prestige system in Modern Warfare 2 and the concept of Persistent Prestige.

We also have a ton of other MW2 content for you to browse below:

How to play Modern Warfare 2 on Steam Deck | Are Modern Warfare 2 servers down? | Do Warzone Double XP tokens carry over to MW2? | Can you mix and match camos in Modern Warfare 2? | Does Modern Warfare 2 have a Tactical Nuke Killstreak? | Fastest ways to rank up in Modern Warfare 2 | How to disable helmet cam in Modern Warfare 2 | How to turn off crossplay in Modern Warfare 2 | How to switch between Killstreaks and Scorestreaks in Modern Warfare 2

Image Credit: Activision

About The Author

A content creator for Charlie INTEL / Dexerto that earned a degree, wrote for PlusXP, Twinfinite, and Keengamer, before finally securing his dream job of being a professional video game writer. When not writing about games, he's very busy playing every game in existence and adding to his 11,000+ PlayStation Trophies and 150+ Platinums. You can contact him at [email protected].