Halo Infinite Season 1 Ranked system explained: Ranks, rules & game modes

Nathan Warby
Halo Infinite Ranked

Halo Infinite’s multiplayer is here, and fearless players are jumping straight into the Ranked modes. If you’re wondering how the Ranked system works in the new era of Halo, we’ve broken it all down for you right here.

343 Industries shocked everyone when they dropped Season 1 of Halo Infinite multiplayer early, and let fans experience the next generation of Halo sooner than expected.

Since then, old and new players alike have been whipping out their Energy Swords and dropping into the new maps and modes for the first time.

Article continues after ad

But if the standard multiplayer experience isn’t tough enough for you, you might want to try out the more competitive modes instead. Here’s how the Ranked system works in Halo Infinite multiplayer.

Halo Infinite multiplayer Ranks

download halo infinite multiplayer characters in a line

343 Industries have overhauled the system from Halo 5, where are five Ranks you can achieve in Halo Infinite multiplayer, determined by your performance across Ranked Arena matches.

Each rank, with the exception of the final one, has six sub-ranks from I to VI – so it won’t be easy to climb to the top.

Article continues after ad

Here’s every Rank in Halo Infinite multiplayer:

  • Bronze: I – VI
  • Silver: I – VI
  • Gold: I – VI
  • Platinum: I – VI
  • Diamond: I – VI
  • Onyx

Players must complete 10 placement matches in Ranked Arena first before receiving their starter rank. As you continue to battle against players of similar skill, you gradually move up or down the standings.

Halo Infinite Ranked Arena matches: Modes & rules

Halo Infinite multiplayer gameplay

Ranked Arena is the most competitive part of Halo Infinite’s multiplayer, pitting the most hardcore of players against each other. It’s no surprise, then, that Ranked matches are particularly brutal tests of skill.

Article continues after ad

All Ranked Arena games take place in the same four modes, these are:

  • Slayer
  • Capture the Flag
  • Oddball
  • Strongholds

These modes will be familiar to Halo players, but they do come with a few tweaks to make them more challenging.

Ranked Arena rules

Ranked matches essentially strip the player of most of the helpful features they can rely on in standard multiplayer and forces them to use nothing but their own reflexes and skill.

These are the rules for every match of Ranked Arena:

Article continues after ad
  • Players start with just a Battle Rifle
  • Combat Sensors are disabled at all times
  • Grenade markers are turned off
  • Static item spawns are on
  • Friendly fire is on

All progress in the Halo Infinite Season 1 beta carries over when the full game launches on December 8. So, don’t be shy about dropping into Ranked Arena and working towards Onyx.

For more on Halo Infinite, be sure to check out everything in the Season 1 Battle Pass, and how to earn XP quickly.

Image credits: 343 Industries