How to get Hierarchy of Needs in Destiny 2

Jacob Woodward
The Hierarchy of Needs bow in Destiny 2

If you’re an avid Exotic weapon user, learning the steps for how to get the Hierarchy of Needs in Destiny 2 could be your ticket to adding another rare Bow to your arsenal. Unfortunately, you will have to head into an end-game activity to get your hands on this high-powered weapon, but we’ll get into everything you need to know below.

Bows in Destiny 2 are always worth picking up, especially the Exotic ones like Wish-Ender, Wish-Keeper, and the one we’ll be discussing here – the Hierarchy of Needs. Yes, they are usually slower firing compared to the likes of an Auto Rifle, but if you’ve got the aim, you’ll see their effectiveness in both PvE and PvP.

Here’s how to get the Hierarchy of Needs Bow in Destiny 2.

Destiny 2: How to get Hierarchy of Needs

To get the Hierarchy of Needs in Destiny 2, you will need to complete the Spire of Watcher dungeon, the end-game activity we alluded to earlier.

Sadly, this is not a random drop throughout the different dungeon encounters though, and instead, it can only be earned upon completing the entire thing. This means there is a significant time investment but one you’ll need to commit to if you want to experience the power of this Exotic. 

Guardians running toward the Spire of Watcher dungeon in Destiny 2
The Spire of Watcher dungeon is the home of the Hierarchy of Needs Bow.

One upside is that if you’re a fan of what Bungie has done with the dungeon, or the grind a game like Destiny offers, there are ways you can increase the Hierarchy of Needs drop rate. This is done through completing Triumphs tied to the dungeon, but only a set few. 

The Triumphs you need to focus on are the Vexplosion, The Magnificent One, Untarnished Grit, Resident Vexpert, and Devil in the Details. Each of these require you to either complete encounters within the dungeon or complete the dungeon itself. The only exception is the Devil in the Details Triumph which is a goose chase around finding recordings within the dungeon.

You don’t have to complete all of the Triumphs but the more you do finish up, the higher the chance the Hierarchy of Needs will drop.

How to get Hierarchy of Needs catalyst in Destiny 2

A Guardian using a bow in Destiny 2
The Hierarchy of Needs is a far superior Bow to regular options in Destiny 2.

To get the Hierarchy of Needs catalyst in Destiny 2, you will need to head right back into the Spire of Watcher dungeon and complete it on Master difficulty.

This is a 1610 power-level activity so ensure you’ve got your top gear equipped as you’ll be taking on the likes of Overload Champions.

Once you do finish the Spire of Watcher dungeon on Mater difficulty, you should be rewarded with the catalyst first try but if not, you may have to sadly do another run.

That’s all you need to know on how to both get the Hierarchy of Needs in Destiny 2 as well as the all-important catalyst to improve the already impressive Bow. If you need more help with weapons, or other areas of Destiny 2, check out our other guides below.

Destiny 2 Prophecy Dungeon loot table explained | Destiny 2 codes for free Emblems and Shaders | How to get Monte Carlo Catalyst in Destiny 2 | Best Destiny 2 PVP weapons | How to get the Destiny 2 Breakneck Auto Rifle | All Destiny 2 Expansions so far

Related Topics

About The Author

Jacob is CharlieIntel’s Evergreen Editor who plays pretty much anything you put in front of him. When he’s not trying to be the Champion in Apex Legends, he’s out in the tall grass catching various Pokemon. After moving into games journalism in 2020, he has worked as an Editor for BGFG, GGRecon, and Gamer Guides, as well as freelancing for various other outlets. You can contact Jacob at [email protected].