Connect with us


Overwatch 2 Competitive: Placements explained, how to unlock, Competitive Points, more

Looking to grind through the Competitive ranks in Overwatch 2? Here’s everything you need to know about the sequel’s ranked mode.



Overwatch 2 players in Competitive mode

A major part of Overwatch is its competitive scene and of course, Competitive mode returns with Overwatch 2. The system has changed quite a bit from the original game, so we’re breaking down everything you need to know about Overwatch 2’s ranked mode.

Overwatch 2 is finally here, bringing a ton of changes to Blizzard’s popular hero shooter. With a new 5v5 format, updated and new maps, and both new and returning Heroes, Overwatch veterans and new players alike have reason to hop into the free-to-play offering.

The Competitive mode is a major reason for players to keep coming back while striving to improve. Overwatch 2 brings plenty of changes to Competitive, so here’s how to play the mode, as well as its progression, ranks, and rewards.

How to play Overwatch 2 Competitive with friends

overwatch 2 characters stood together

Unless you played Competitive in the original game, you can’t simply jump straight into Overwatch 2’s Competitive at launch. Instead, Overwatch 2 players will need to complete the First-Time User Experience and win 50 Quick Play matches.

However, if you were a Competitive grinder in the original Overwatch, then as long as you’re on the same account, you’ll be able to jump into Competitive straight away. That said, you may not be able to play with your friends if they are just getting started, as your rank will be too high for them.

Blizzard explained that the incentive is to give “new players time to prepare for the higher expectations that come with Competitive,” without discouraging veteran players by giving them teammates who have less experience.

Overwatch 2 Competitive placements explained

Once you’ve qualified to play Competitive in Overwatch 2, it’ll be time to complete your placement matches and get assigned a rank.

In Overwatch 2, you’ll be given a rank after your first seven wins or 20 losses. You’ll likely be given a low rank but don’t be discouraged, as the whole point of Ranked is to improve and advance through the divisions.

Overwatch 2 Competitive ranks & progression explained

Overwatch 2 Competitive progress

Overwatch 2 has completely removed SR, the number you see go up or down after each match, and has brought Competitive updates instead.

With Overwatch 2 Competitive, you’ll see your Skill Tier and Division change “every seven wins, or 20 losses, instead of every single game.” With each of these Competitive updates, you’ll see your progress and Division adjust, if necessary.

While there’s no longer an SR number to see, all of the same Skill Tiers and Divisions still exist in Overwatch 2. Going from Bronze all the way to Grand Master, each Skill Tier has five Divisions with 1 being the highest. The Top 500 won’t have these Divisions, though.

Here’s a breakdown of Overwatch 2’s Skill Tiers and Divisions:

  • Bronze
    • Bronze 5
    • Bronze 4
    • Bronze 3
    • Bronze 2
    • Bronze 1
  • Silver
    • Silver 5
    • Silver 4
    • Silver 3
    • Silver 2
    • Silver 1
  • Diamond
    • Diamond 5
    • Diamond 4
    • Diamond 3
    • Diamond 2
    • Diamond 1
  • Master
    • Master 5
    • Master 4
    • Master 3
    • Master 2
    • Master 1
  • Grandmaster
    • Grandmaster 5
    • Grandmaster 4
    • Grandmaster 3
    • Grandmaster 2
    • Grandmaster 1
  • Top 500

There’s also a Top 500 Leaderboard which is separated by input pool, a concept that should be similar to anyone who played Call of Duty: Vanguard or Apex Legends with its Predator rank.

You’ll need to “complete 25 games for any given role in Role Queue or 50 games in Open Queue” to qualify, and cross-platform players can see the leaderboards separated by input.

Overwatch 2 Competitive rank Decay

If you take a break from Overwatch 2, you’ll find the rank Decay mechanic in effect. This means that your Competitive rank will slowly go down during your hiatus.

The devs explained that players who take a break are less likely to maintain the same skill level as when they left off, so this “makes matches fairer.” Your rank will go up or down much faster after returning so that you can quickly get back to the appropriate Skill Tier and Division.

Overwatch 2 Competitive Points & rewards

Kiriko in Overwatch 2

Overwatch 2 players can earn rewards to show off their Competitive prowess, but these have changed since the original game.

With commemorative sprays and icons removed, Overwatch 2 players will be earning “limited Competitive titles for your name card.” You’ll receive the new title at the end of the Competitive season, and they can only be used in the following season until they’re replaced again.

You’ll also earn Competitive Points (CP) at the end of the season for wins, draws, and the highest Skill Tier you reach. But these are capped to the highest skill tier you reach in any of your roles, so if you reach Master with Support but Diamond with Tank, you’ll only get the CP for reaching Master.

Reaching 3,000 CP will reward you with a Gold Weapon for any Hero, including the new characters Sojourn, Junker Queen, and Kiriko.

Here’s a breakdown of the CP you’ll earn when playing Overwatch Competitive:

  • Win: 15 CP
  • Draw: 5 CP
  • Bronze: 65 CP
  • Silver: 125 CP
  • Gold: 250 CP
  • Platinum: 500 CP
  • Diamond: 750 CP
  • Master: 1,200 CP
  • Grandmaster: 1,750 CP

For more on Overwatch 2, be sure to check out everything we know about Season 1 and the best PC settings to maximize FPS.

Image Credit: Blizzard