Connect with us

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II

Modern Warfare 2 Hardcore mode: How to play Tier 1 playlist

Modern Warfare 2 was without its Hardcore despite being confirmed for launch, so here’s how to play the Tier 1 playlist in Season 1.



Modern Warfare 2 Operators taking cover in hardcore mode

Tons of Call of Duty players love Hardcore mode for its fast time to kill and with the mode now available in Modern Warfare 2, here’s how to play the Tier 1 Playlist.

With Modern Warfare 2 Season 1 finally here, the focus shifts to the new Shoot House map, and of course, Warzone 2. However, with over 50 weapons, a ton of attachments, and four Mastery Camos to earn, players are still looking to rattle through all of the weapons as quickly as possible.

One of the traditionally fastest ways of completing the weapon grind is to play the Hardcore mode thanks to its rapid TTK that makes almost any weapon viable. Luckily, Tier 1 is now available in Modern Warfare 2, after it was absent from the game at launch.

Here’s everything we know about the fan-favorite Hardcore mode in Modern Warfare 2, including its name change.

Does Modern Warfare 2 have Hardcore mode?

Yes, Modern Warfare 2 offers a Hardcore mode, but Infinity Ward have renamed it to Tier 1 Playlists.

Tier 1 Playlists are described as almost exactly the same as Hardcore mode, giving players less health, limiting the HUD, and turning friendly fire on.

‘Tier One Special Missions Unit’ is a name often assigned to highly secretive US special forces operations, but players have been baffled by the change nonetheless.

When does Hardcore mode arrive in Modern Warfare 2?

Modern Warfare 2’s Hardcore mode called Tier 1 is accessible to players as of November 16.

Although it was announced as a launch feature, the Tier 1 Playlist arrived with the Season 1 update.

Season 1 also delivered a ton of new content including weapon buffs and Warzone 2’s DMZ.

How to play Hardcore mode in Modern Warfare 2

You can find Modern Warfare 2’s Hardcore mode through the game’s menus under Tier 1.

It is currently under the multiplayer section of the menu following the featured section. A total of eight game modes are available in the Hardcore Tier 1 Playlist: Team Deathmatch, Domination, Search & Destroy, Hardpoint, Headquarters, Kill Confirmed, Free-for-All, and Control.

For more, be sure to check out our tips on how to rank up fast in Modern Warfare 2.

Image Credit: Activision