Connect with us


How to catch all Legendaries in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet: Every Legendary

Pokemon Scarlet & Violet welcomes some new Legendary Pokemon to the franchise, so let’s run though them and how to get them.



koraidon and moraidon in pokemon scarlet and violet

Legendaries are a big aspect of Pokemon Scarlet & Violet and we’re gonna run through all the new additions and show you how to obtain them.

Going all the way back to the series’ roots, Pokemon has featured almost mythic figures in the form of Legendary pokemon. Like other mainline entries, Pokemon Scarlet and Violet carry on this tradition and introduce this generation’s icons that will be remembered for years to come.

Mewtwo, Mew, Entei, and Ho-Oh, are just some of the prestigious Pokemon that have been honored with the tag of being a Legendary.

Now, Pokemon Scarlet & Violet has added more names to this ever-growing list, so let’s run through them all.

New Legendaries in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

Game Freak have debuted six new Legendary Pokemon in Scarlet & Violet, with two being public knowledge before the game’s full release, as well as an additional four further creatures to discover.

Here is a complete list of every Legendary in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet:

  • Koraidon
  • Miraidon
  • Ting-Lu
  • Chien-Pao
  • Wo-Chien
  • Chi-Yu

How to own Koraidon & Miraidon in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

Koraidon is exclusive to Pokemon Scarlet and Miraidon is exclusive to Pokemon Violet. Unlike in other Pokemon games, both Legendaries are actually introduced almost immediately and players own them pretty much from the get-go.

So you don’t need to do anything special to own them or catch them, simply start your respective version of the game, and they will become your mount within the first hour.

In the build-up to Pokemon Scarlet & Violet, trailers and gameplay footage introduced fans to the two new Legendaries – Koraidon and Miraidon. So it wasn’t too much of a surprise to see them when the games launched.

koraidon in pokemon scarlet & violet trailer

How to catch Ting-Lu, Chien-Pao, Wo-Chien, and Chi-Yu in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

The Legendary quartet of Ting-Lu, Chien-Pao, Wo-Chien, and Chi-Yu can only be unlocked once you’ve located 8 colored Stakes of the same color, found around Paldea, and sought out the Pokemon’s respective Shrine.

There are 32 Stakes in total, and you’ll need to find Blue, Green, Purple, and yellow-colored Stakes.

Once you’ve gained access to a Shrine, you will have an opportunity to go 1-on-1 with the Legendary associated with that particular Shrine. Battle it, weaken it, and then you should have a great chance of success when it comes to catching them!

That’s everything you need to know about Pokemon Scarlet & Violet’s Legendary Pokemon. If you want more guides for the game, we have many more for you to check out:

Pokemon Scarlet & Violet version differences | How to get Gimmighoul Roaming Form in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | How to connect Pokemon Scarlet & Violet to Pokemon Home | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Tera Raid Battles explained | Every new Pokemon in Scarlet & Violet | How many Pokemon are there? | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Terastal Phenomenon explained | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet online Battle Stadium explained | How to catch Shiny Pokemon in Scarlet & Violet | How does EXP Share work in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet?

Image Credit: Game Freak