Connect with us


How to beat Scarlet & Violet Elite Four: Champion of Paldea

Beating the Elite Four in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet is a big part of the game, so let’s run through it and how to become Champion of Paldea.



elite four in pokemon scarlet and violet

Pokemon Scarlet & Violet challenges players with the Elite Four, and we’ve got information on the whole team, their Pokemon, and how to finally become Champion of Paldea.

After a temporary hiatus in Legends Arceus, the Elite Four make a welcome return in the latest fully-fledged entry in Game Freak’s long-running monster-catching franchise – Pokemon Scarlet & Violet.

Between gathering HMs and finding out how to check all-important IV stats, trainers need to engage all of their senses and skills to succeed in Scarlet & Violet Pokemon battles.

Trainers need to assemble a strong group of Pokemon capable of toppling the game’s most fearsome foursome. As with every title, the Elite Four represent Pokemon’s toughest task, and they must be defeated if you want to be considered a Champion of Paldea.

How to become Champion of Paldea in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

The journey to the top in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet is a familiar tale as you need to complete multiple steps from collecting gym badges to eventually besting the Elite Four.

This is how you’ll become a Champion of Paldea in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet:

  1. Choose a Starter Pokemon and explore the lands of Paldea leveling up your Pokemon and finding new, stronger ones to enhance your party.
  2. Acquire all eight Gym Badges from Gym Leaders – check out our full guide on the recommended order to beat them.
  3. Consider adding a Legendary Pokemon or two to your lineup along the way.
  4. When you’re ready, go to the Pokemon League.
  5. You’ll then have to complete a Pokemon Quiz when you arrive there to be eligible for the Elite Four test.
  6. Once you’re successful, beat all five Pokemon Trainers and you’ll be crowned a Champion of Paldea in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet!
pokemon scarlet violet league building

How to beat Elite Four in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

As usual in a Pokemon game, beating the Elite Four doesn’t actually mean just defeating four opponents, there is a secret fifth fight for you to endure. Each battle in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet will test the overall capabilities of your party, as well as its all-around effectiveness.

First Elite Four battle – Rika

Your first battle will be against Rika, a specialist in the art of Ground-type Pokemon, so you’ll want to bring a couple of Pokemon that can counteract this with Grass, Ice, and Water-type moves for utmost effect.

Rika’s squad will consist of the following Pokemon and their respective level:

  • Whiscash: Level 57 Ground/Water-type Pokemon.
  • Camerupt: Level 57 Fire/Water-type Pokemon.
  • Donphan: Level 57 Ground-type Pokemon.
  • Dugtrio: Level 57 Ground-type Pokemon.
  • Clodsire: Level 58 Poison/Ground-type (Ground Tera Type) Pokemon.

Second Elite Four fight – Poppy

Up next is Poppy, and Poppy will predominantly use Steel-types with all five of her Pokemon featuring the element. Fire will work well against them, and so will Fighting and Groundtype moves.

When facing Poppy, you will battle the following Pokemon:

  • Copperajah: Level 58 Steel-type Pokemon.
  • Magnezone: Level 58 Electric/Steel-type Pokemon.
  • Bronzong: Level 58 Psychic/Steel-type Pokemon.
  • Corviknight: Level 58 Flying/Steel-type Pokemon.
  • Tinkaton: Level 59 Steel-type (Steel Tera Type) Pokemon.

Third Elite Four fight – Larry

A familiar face returns for your third battle in the Elite Four road as Medali Gym Leader Larry comes back with a vengeance and a bunch of Flying-type Pokemon seeking to best you this time around.

Larry will be in possession of this party of Pokemon:

  • Tropius: Level 59 Flying/Grass-type Pokemon.
  • Oricorio: Level 59 Electric/Flying-type Pokemon.
  • Altaria: Level 59 Dragon/Flying-type Pokemon.
  • Staraptor: Level 59 Flying/Normal-type Pokemon.
  • Flamigo: Level 60 Flying/Fighting-type (Flying Tera Type) Pokemon.

Fourth Elite Four fight – Hassel

Your ‘final’ foe from the Elite Four is Hassel, another returning face. He boasts a formidable array of Dragon-type Pokemon, so you will need to make sure you have one or two Pokemon capable of delivering Dragon and Fairy-type moves.

Here’s Hassel’s tough team to beat:

  • Noivern: Level 60 Flying/Dragon-type Pokemon.
  • Haxorus: Level 60 Dragon-type Pokemon.
  • Dragalge: Level 60 Dragon/Poison-type Pokemon.
  • Flapple: Level 60 Grass/Dragon-type Pokemon.
  • Baxcalibur: Level 61 Dragon/Ice-type (Dragon Tera Type) Pokemon.
greeta in pokemon scarlet and violet

How to defeat Pokemon Champion Geeta in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

You already expected it, but if Pokemon Scarlet & Violet is your first time playing through one of Game Freak’s games, then you might have been taken off-guard!

Once you’ve conquered the Elite Four, you’ll face the ultimate test – Geeta, the Pokemon Champion.

Whereas previous trainers largely centered around a specific theme when it comes to Pokemon type, Geeta demands flexibility in that regard. If you can answer the call, you’ll be crowned a Paldea Pokemon Champion.

Bringing Pokemon who have powerful moves in most of the following types is a great idea:

  • Bug
  • Dark
  • Electric
  • Fighting
  • Fire
  • Flying
  • Ghost
  • Grass
  • Ice
  • Poison
  • Rock
  • Steel
  • Water

With this knowledge in hand, here’s every single one of Geeta’s six Pokemon and their types:

  • Espathra: Level 61 Psychic-type Pokemon.
  • Gogoat: Level 61 Grass-type Pokemon.
  • Veluza: Level 61 Psychic/Water-type Pokemon.
  • Avalugg: Level 61 Ice-type Pokemon.
  • Kingambit: Level 61 Dark/Steel-type Pokemon.
  • Glimmora: Level 62 Rock/Poison-type (Rock Tera Type) Pokemon.

Now that you’ve, hopefully, achieved your dream of becoming a Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Champion, we have plenty of other guides for you to check out for the game:

How to get Gimmighoul Roaming Form in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Tera Raid Battles explained | How to catch Shiny Pokemon in Scarlet & Violet | How does EXP Share work in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet? | How to catch all Legendaries in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | How to breed eggs in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Stake locations: All Shrines | Herba Mystica in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet | Pokemon Scarlet & Violet Mystery Gift codes | How to check IVs in Pokemon Scarlet & Violet

Image Credit: Game Freak