Star Wars Jedi: Survivor – Release date, story, gameplay, platforms, trailers, more

star wars jedi survivor cover art

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will play host to the next chapter in the story of Cal Kestis. Respawn Entertainment’s action-Soulslike series will feature new and returning elements. So let’s find out everything we know about the next Star Wars game.

After the controversial Star Wars: Battlefront II in which microtransactions proved to be a sore point, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order proved to be a stellar success for the franchise, and now the sequel will continue the story.

Players and fans of the series alike have become acquainted with the underdog story of Cal Kestis, and Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will throw players into the role of a more grown-up, veteran version of the Jedi.

Let’s see what Star Wars enthusiasts are in for with Survivor.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor release date

The force will be with players on April 28, 2023, as Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will grace screens with its presence on this day. When it arrives, Star Wars fans will be able to continue the story of Cal Kestis after Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor platforms

EA and Respawn Entertainment are targeting a completely next-gen release for Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, so the title will be released on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC.

Article continues after ad

The game will not be on Steam Deck and may arrive on Xbox Game Pass at a later point. Whether the game gets an eventual Switch release or any ported editions for last-gen remains to be seen.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor editions & pre-order bonuses

Pre-ordering the Standard Edition of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will give the base copy of the game as well as new cosmetics, including a Lightsaber set and Blaster set. You can get even more pre-order bonuses in the Deluxe Edition.

This version allows players to equip outfits based on both Han Solo and Luke Skywalker from the Star Wars franchise. You can also opt for the Collector’s Edition, which includes everything in the other versions along with a replica Lightsaber hilt.

The Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Collector’s Edition comes with a replica of Cal’s Lightsaber.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor story & gameplay

The story of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor takes place five years after the events of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. It’s centered around a more mature and scarred Cal in his battle against the Galactic Empire.

His newest enemies include the Pau’an Imperial senator, who makes a dangerous deal, and the Gen’Dai Rayvis, whose ultimate goal is the extermination of the remaining Jedi that survived Order 66.

One of the most surprising aspects of the original title was its heavy focus on combat and its Soulslike elements, inspired by games such as Elden Ring, that challenged more casual fans. Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will still be retaining these elements of its gameplay and adding to them.

Article continues after ad

An area that will feel completely different is the combat and the game’s director, Stig Asmussen, told GameInformer: “A lot of it depends on the enemy that you’re coming across,” said Asmussen. “It’s advantageous to use certain types of stances against certain types of enemies, and it’s up to the player to figure that out.”

The game will allow players to traverse different maps through platforming, and there is even a grappling hook that can be used to reach certain places. You will also be able to ride a few beasts that you encounter as a means of travel.

Is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Open World?

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will feature large open-world maps for players to explore across different planets. After flying to these worlds on the Mantis, you can run, climb, and wall-run across the terrain.

You can use the holographic map to find different areas that are explorable and creatures like Nekko can be used to traverse the land. There is also a fast travel option available at meditation points.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will feature open-world gameplay as well as linear sections.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor fighting stances

Star Wars Jedi Survivor expands on the combat and gameplay of the first game by giving Cal five different lightsaber stances. The game starts you off with the single-blade, double-blade, and dual-wield. You’ll then later unlock Heavy and Blaster stances.

Article continues after ad

However, you can only use two stances at a time. Single-blade is the standard Jedi stance, double-blade extends your weapon with a second lightsaber beam, and dual-wield allows you to divide the lightsaber into two parts.

The Heavy stance, also known as the Crossguard stance, features a hilted lightsaber and prioritizes high damage over range. Finally, the Blaster stance is a mix of using your lightsaber and blaster in combat.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Trailers

Even though it didn’t reveal too much as most initial reveal trailers don’t, the Official Teaser on May 27, 2022, kickstarted the Star Wars Jedi: Survivor hype.

Things got a bit meatier and more substantial at the 2022 Game Awards when EA showed off the full Official Reveal Trailer.

You can check this official below.

On April 9, 2023, we got our best look at Star Wars Jedi: Survivor in the final gameplay trailer, and this gave players a taste of the action that they can expect from this game.

You can check it out below:

There are many other games due to arrive on consoles and PC in 2023 and 2024 and beyond, so check out some of the other hubs we’ve whipped up for you:

 Grand Theft Auto 6 | Starfield | The Elder Scrolls VIWolverine Dead Island 2 | Counter-Strike 2 | CoD: 2023 | Diablo 4

Article continues after ad

Image Credit: EA